Colossians 3, in The Message Remix 2.0, it says this:

12-14So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.

Too often, IMO, we choose other designers for our wardrobe. Tall Skinny Kiwi even confessed (in a brilliant piece) that sometimes he dresses like a pagan. Sometimes, the devil is really in Prada! When we let Calvin Klein, Polo, Izod, Guess, etc. be our primary wardrobers, we often find that we are not dressed in compassion, kindness,
humility, quiet strength and discipline. Sometimes, yes, but not quite as often as we like to think.

In this God focused life, we don’t care so much what we wear, but how we wear it. That is, we don’t seek to impress, but to serve. Jesus, if you will recall, dressed to serve. He even told us, The kings of the Gentiles lord it over them; and those who exercise authority over them call themselves Benefactors. But you are not to be like that. Instead, the greatest
among you should be like the youngest, and the one who rules like the one who serves.”

That’s the backwards ways of the Kingdom of God. The first are last, the greatest are the servants. It sounds absurd until you try to live it — then you truly find that the greatest fulfillment comes from emptying yourself. The greatest joy for yourself comes from seeking joy for others, and not for yourself. The greatest love truly is laying your life down for others.

So today, I’m going to make sure I put on my best clothes. I’ve got my compassion shirt, my kindness hat, my humility pants, my shoes of quiet strength and my belt of discipline. I’m going to put my coat of love on over it, and I’m going to get dirty. I’m going to serve people today. Not for myself or my joy, but for God. Today, I will live my life for my Creator. How about you?

