It’s a new year. I’m told it should be a new me.

When I watch TV, I’m being bombarded by two divergent messages. One says I should eat “more chikin” and other things that make me go, “Yummy!”. But that’s who I’ve been. That’s why I’m round. (I AM NOT OUT OF SHAPE, round is a shape!).

The other adds say its time to get the new me I’ve always wanted. Buff and tough. Trim and slim. Rarin’ to go. Use this supplement, buy this product, subscribe to this regimen, membership, etc.

I see a need to be a “New Me,” especially physically. But not for my sake. Will I feel better about myself if I’m thin and muscular? Duh! But, as I read through God’s Word, I’m struck again and again that it’s not about me and how I feel. The great “it” is about living the Two.

Should I be in good shape? Yes, but not for my sake. God made me. 1st Corinthians 6:19-20 says, “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.” Yeah, I know, Paul is talking about sexual impurity here, but I don’t find it too much a stretch to see ALL impurity as being covered by this concept. My body is a temple of the Holy Spirit.

With this in mind, I’m recall Jesus clearing out the Temple in Jerusalem. It had become a “den of thieves” and a place where man’s business, not God’s business was first and foremost. As I pour these artificial flavors, preservatives, and chemicals into my body, am I not turning this Temple into a place of corruption? A den of sickness? A place where MY business, not God’s business, is first and foremost?

5 days now I’ve been eating better (and ALOT less) and exercising. 5 days now I’ve been working on restoring this temple. 5 days now, I’ve been driving the corruption out. Pray for me, please, to restore and renew this temple of the Holy Spirit, and I’ll pray for you, too.

