Well, there’s no snow here in Oklahoma, at least not in Texoma, but the recent rain HAS made the roads a little treacherous. And there is no doubt that this is the season to be dashing.

Recently I have been doing ALOT of dashing. I taught myself MS Moviemaker as I edited our Church’s Christmas movie (instead of a live play, we filmed our kids). I preached at another church besides my own. I’ve been to three Christmas parties, helped a friend move, taken the Women’s Fellowship out to a restaurant in another city, taken a group to Chickasha (about 2 hours on way!) to look at their famous Christmas lights, been to a board meeting, an elder’s meeting, a minister’s meeting AND did all my own Christmas shopping.

This morning, I had to wonder who the beautiful woman in my bed was, and realize it was my long lost wife! Well, it FEELS like its been years since I’ve seen her!

But as I take some time out, I realize that its very easy to miss Christ while celebrating Christmas. Herod was so busy trying to do his thing that he missed Christ (THANK YOU, GOD!) Caiaphas was so busy trying to take care of his business that he missed the Messiah. For centuries, men and women have allowed themselves to get so busy that they’ve missed the Messiah.

Maybe there is more wisdom than we know in stopping to smell the roses. Maybe their sweet scent is the aroma of God’s love. I wonder if this is where Paul was going when he wrote, “14But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him. 15For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. 16To the one we are the smell of death; to the other, the fragrance of life. And who is equal to such a task? 2 Corinthians 2:14-16 (NIV)”

Jesus says that when we reach out to those in need, we meet Him; when we greet those we usually ignore, we greet Him. Jesus says that when we give of ourselves to those who lack, He is there. Don’t believe me, read Matthew 25.

Why, then, is it that we rush around so much focused only on where we are going, and missing the people who need us, who need love, who need Jesus. Why don’t we make the time to celebrate those lives, or the creations of God that are all around us?

Today, I’m not going to go dashing through the mud. Today, I’m going to stop and smell the roses. What about you?

