It is very easy to make a promise.  “I AM going to write in this blog everyday!”  “I AM going to stop wasting time.”  “I AM going to lose weight this year!”  The list can go on and on.

The problem is that when we say things like this the focus is in the wrong spot.  We too often mean “I” am going to do such and such.  Too rarely do we ever put the focus on “I AM”.

In Exodus 3:13-14 we read, “13 Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?” 14 God said to Moses, “I am who I am .  This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ “”

I AM is God.  I AM is the Lord.  I AM is the TRUE power to change in our lives.  I AM is the only way to ever accomplish anything with full success.

Jesus said, in Matthew 5:33-37, “33“Again, you have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘Do not break your oath, but keep the oaths you have made to the Lord.’ 34But I tell you, Do not swear at all: either by heaven, for it is God’s throne; 35or by the earth, for it is his footstool; or by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the Great King. 36And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black. 37Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.”

When we make an oath, we risk breaking the third commandment, “”You shall not misuse the name of the LORD your God, for the LORD will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name. (Exodus 20:7).  When we say, “I AM going to…” we are invoking the name of God.  When we say, “I AM” we are dealing with greater issues than OUR ability to succeed, we are putting God’s name on the line.  This is especially wrong when we have no intention of seeking God’s guidance or help in the matter at hand.

Now, I’m no zealot.  I realize alot of you are shaking your heads and saying, “This guy’s nuts!”  I also realize that it is near impossible to speak English without using the phrase “I AM”.  What I’m actually intending with this post is to help us all to be more aware of our words, of the power of words (“God said, ‘Let there be…'”), and of the danger of self-reliance over God reliance.

The best we can do is to trust God.  I am going to try, and with God’s help, I will succeed.  How about you?  Are you willing to put God’s good name on the line?

