How can you struggle through one of the weakest conferences in NCAA football (Arizona and Oregon almost took them, and Oregon State DID), and still be a top 10 team, let alone be ranked higher than Florida, who has actually played FOOTBALL, or West Virginia?  Even with today’s loss, Michigan SHOULD be ranked higher (clearly the better team!).

But USC gets that break.  They also get a 1/2 yard spotting favor at home and 7 free points from the Refs! (That Steve Smith TD was CLEARLY a pick — only PAC-10 officials could have missed it).

Yet despite their pride, their swagger and the clear fact they none of it is deserved, I find God calls me to pray for them.  I was concerned when the WR (I should know his name, but don’t) stayed down for so long, and said a prayer.  I even have to pray for Pete Carroll while he’s bragging about his defense (who got lucky that Oregon couldn’t catch).

God calls us to ALWAYS pray for people.  Jesus said, “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.”  Just because I think their jerks doesn’t mean its true.  Jesus also says, “Judge not lest ye be judged!”

Are Pete and the Boys from Troy evil or good?  I don’t know.  I don’t get to know.  Its not about me.  My job is just to pray for them, to love them, and to hope that God will move me to a place where I can accept them for who they are.

