Here locally we have the Hackberry Flats Wetland Restoration Project.  As a wetland on the midland flyway for most migratory birds Hackberry sees MANY birds you would not expect to find on the Great Plains.  Two years ago we had 1/3 of the world’s population of Whooping Cranes!  But it wasn’t always that way…

Back when Teddy Roosevelt was President, he pointed out that the wetlands would make good farmland.  Local residents spent years digging a trench to drain the wetlands.  Soon the area became all farmlands (not great farmlands, as farmers used to say, “A heavy fog brings more than enough moisture to stick a tractor in Hackberry Flat.”)  While this was great for us wheat eating, cotton wearing humans, the bug-eating, feather wearing birds found it not so great!

Thankfully, before it was too late, we were able to restore the wetlands.  The chief biologist out there has done wonderful work at creating a great habitat, and attracting endagered and threatened species to a safe harbor.

You know, when God gave us the keys to His world, I have to wonder if He expected us to trash it, or if He expected us to return it pretty much in-tact, washed, waxed, and ready for Him to use again.  I have to wonder how we can claim to love God and yet to so easily destroy His creation with so little thought.  I have to ask, what can I do to better care for this world of which I am a co-steward.

“Sorry, Dad, I had a fender-bender with your planet.  Oh, and me and the guys left all our trash in the backseat.  See ya!”  I don’t think so…

